top of page
Search
  • thomasulrike1989

No Thanks! No Need For A Halloween Party Torrent



A free alternative would be to use ItsHidden VPN service. It allows you to make an encrypted connection to them before downloading torrents, but in order to do that, you need to sign up for an account. You can follow a tutorial on how to connect to the VPN here. You can really use any VPN to download torrents, but it is a bit mean to the other VPN users for you to suck up all of the bandwidth, so please refrain from doing that.




No Thanks! No Need For A Halloween Party Torrent



I must say, you didn't do a great job at explaining how to configure anomos - I have Tor and it works just fine (I'm just having juvenile fun connecting at and coming up with all sort of random IPs) but anomos just fails - these are the logs:[CRITICAL] 22:47:55 (SingleportListener:56) Could not open a listening port: [Errno 98] Address already in use. Check your port range settings.[ERROR ] 22:47:56 (Rerequester:114) You are trying to make an unencrypted connection to a tracker, and this has been disabled for security reasons. Halting.[ERROR ] 22:47:56 (Rerequester:114) You are trying to make an unencrypted connection to a tracker, and this has been disabled for security reasons. Halting.[CRITICAL] 22:47:56 (download:465) Can't start two separate instances of the same torrent[INFO ] 22:47:56 (download:566) Closing connections, please wait...[ERROR ] 22:48:05 (Rerequester:114) You are trying to make an unencrypted connection to a tracker, and this has been disabled for security reasons. Halting.[ERROR ] 22:48:05 (Rerequester:114) You are trying to make an unencrypted connection to a tracker, and this has been disabled for security reasons. Halting.these are for torrents (not .atorrent BTW) that work just fine in Vuze (I'm downloading them with Azureus proxied through Tor - not the best experience as I'm losing ton of bandwidth, but still....)And, incidentally, does anomos need to be run via sudo? I don't seem to be able to make it run as myself (and, to be sure, I don't like running client apps as root....)


With current bittorrent clients tor doesn't "just work" since the client uses several methods for peer discovery like PEX and DHT which are MUCH harder to anonymise.In theory you can use torrents inside tor's onionland and have everything be done via onion addresses instead of IP addresses but that HURTS tor a LOT. imo onionland is a leech and a gimmic.I2P actually has a really neat bittorrent system that does everything on a DHT, without the need for any trackers OR indexes of any kind. Kind of slow but still really cool.


An encrypted tunnel is created between your computer and external servers, you just need to run a small application (that acts as a proxy). All your bittorrent traffic will be encrypted and unreadable for others.


The rest of the time I feel overwhelmed. Housework, work, phone calls, paperwork, and especially the need to organize around these things regularly put me over the edge. But knowledge is power and I feel better already. Great list! I rarely have the patience for blogs, but you got me. Bravo! Funnily enough, I prefer to read books, and I read a lot of them. Sometimes I only read part of a book. Sometimes I read five at a time. Anyways, thanks again.


2ff7e9595c


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page